California’s DTSC is nearing completion of an “emergency” rulemaking to raise the maximum penalties for hazardous waste compliance violations in California.
In 2017, the California legislature passed a law to increase the statutory maximum for hazardous waste penalties—found in the state’s Health and Safety Code—from $25,000 per day, per violation to $70,000 per day, per violation, an increase of 280%. The California Hazardous Waste Management Workshop returns to Anaheim, Palmdale, Modesto, and San Jose in July! Satisfy DTSC’s annual training mandate and get up to speed on new and changing rules for managing waste in compliance with Title 22 and the Health and Safety Code.
New Law Raised Max Hazardous Waste Penalty to $70,000
While California’s governor signed a bill to amend the Health and Safety Code effective January 1, 2018,
DTSC’s hazardous waste regulations (22 CCR) still reflect the original, lower penalty amounts. Now, DTSC is correcting that issue with an emergency rule to revise the “Determination of Initial Penalty Matrix” found at 22 CCR 66272.62
. The revised penalty matrix will look like this:
The long and short of this is that noncompliance will now cost nearly three times as much
California Title 22 Hazardous Waste Training
EHS professionals in the Golden State know that managing hazardous waste is a little bit different here. Build confidence working with some of the nation’s most stringent compliance requirements at the California Hazardous Waste Management Workshop.
Catch the workshop in cities up and down the state in 2018:
Anaheim July 9–10
Palmdale July 12–13
Modesto July 16–17
San Jose July 19–20
San Diego Sept. 24–25
Los Angeles Sept. 27–28
Bakersfield Oct. 1–2
Oakland Oct. 4–5
Learn more or enroll now at Lion.com/CA.